SciFest at Clongowes - Clongowes Wood College

Posted: 3rd March 2021

seifest clongowes 2021

On behalf of the Science Department, we are delighted to share the results of our 4th Annual SciFest@Clongowes which featured entries from both Elements and Syntax students.  Although the boys are learning from home right now, our science teachers were very keen that students didn’t miss out on being part of SciFest this year, so the decision was made to host the science fair online. We are very thankful to all of the students who participated, who really shone, demonstrating their capacity to research, collate and communicate science.

We would like to thank our external judging panel who volunteered their time to us over a period of five days:

  • Mrs Sheila Porter, Founder and CEO of SciFest CLG*

  • Dr Aishling Quine, Intel Ireland, formerly of Clongowes Wood College*

  • Dr Sumi Dunne, GP, RCSI*

  • Ms Jennifer Ring, QP EU, GSK*

  • Dr John Milne, Bioprocessing Training Director, National Institute for Bioprocessing, Research and Training*

  • Ms Aileen Roberts, QA Director, Amgen*

*All judging in SciFest @Clongowes is on an individual basis and not on behalf of employers or representative organisations.

The main objective of SciFest is to promote Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) education through the provision of a forum for students at local, regional and national level to present and display their scientific investigations. The SciFest programme consists of a series of one-day STEM fairs for second-level students. The aim of the programme is to encourage an interest in, and love of, the STEM subjects. SciFest is accessible to all students of all ability.  A desire to participate is the only entrance requirement of the fair.

View the winners in the compilation video below:

SciFest @ Clongowes 2021 Winners Video


Below is a list of all of 2021’s winners and commended students

Elements Fair

Elements Highly Commended:  

  • Peter Gibbons
  • Arthur Jaggs
  • Luke Duggan McGettigan
  • James Maguire
  • Richie Hyland
  • Maxim Staysukaytis
  • Noah Dunne
  • Jack Reams

Bristol Myers Squibb Passion for STEM Award: 

James Lee

AbbVie Young Innovators Awards:

  • Caolan Lannon
  • Tom Walsh

Captains’ Prize Students’ Choice Award Winner: 

Max Sweetman

Elements Overall Runner Up SciFest 2021: 

Patrick Jones

Elements Overall Winner SciFest 2021:

Tim Boyle

Syntax Fair 

Syntax Highly Commended: 

  • Colin Simon Fellowes
  • Ibai Juntilla El Busto
  • Connor Caso

Syntax Overall Runner Up SciFest 2021: 

Mike Chen

Syntax Overall Winner SciFest 2021: 

James Keenan


Well done to all who took part and to the Science Department for enabling Scifest to take place this year!



Go to Top