Strength in Faith | Private Secondary School Dublin | Clongowes Wood College

Posted: 16th May 2018

Confirmation Ceremony

Most Reverend Denis Nulty, Bishop of Kildare and Leighlin visited Clongowes yesterday (May 15th) to confirm 18 of our pupils and support them in their adult faith journey. It was a joyous occasion attended by those to be confirmed (confirmandi), their Faith Friends and Sponsors and in the company of their peers in the Third Line. The Rector, Fr Sheil and our Pastoral Coordinator, Ms Dolan had spent many weeks readying the students for the ceremony in the Boys’ Chapel and the service was a great success against a background of sacred music supplied by the Clongowes Schola under the baton of Mr Cyril Murphy

Some years ago Fr Sheil invited Poetry Studentsto volunteer as Faith Friends to the Confirmandi so that each Confirmandus would be ‘accompanied’ along the road of preparation by a senior student. His hope was that the latter (so much closer in time/age to theConfirmandi) would be able to relate better to them – both in understanding possible queries and also in giving more understandable responses! The experience was a great success, proving a very positive experience for the Faith Friend himself, and this year 12 Poetry students again volunteered to accompany the Confirmandi.

The sacrament of confirmation completes the sacrament of baptism. If baptism is the sacrament of re-birth to a new and supernatural life, confirmation is the sacrament of maturity and coming of age. This confirmation in the power of the Holy Spirit complements and completes that of baptism. The effect of the sacrament of confirmation is to give strength in faith and for the confession of faith and to impress an indelible character.

Confirmandi Confirmation Name Faith Friends Sponsors
Diego Benavente Pablo Tim O’Brien Mr Tony Egan
Mauricio Benavente José Tim O’Brien Maurice Benavente
Dane Cormack Luke Fred Sargaison Anthony Williams
Joseph Curley Oscar Thomas D’Arcy Brendan O’Rourke
Dan Daly David Seán Lysaght Caroline Daly
Fiach Devitt Patrick Harry Arkwright John Devitt
John Fleming Patrick Ryan McMahon Bernadette May
Alex Hayes Oliver Thomas D’Arcy David Williams
Cian Hickey Michael Seán Lysaght Michael McNamara
Oisín Hussami Xavier Charlie Kelly Siobhán Murphy
Charles Kedde Michael Stephen Mo Hugo O’Donnell
Marcus Lyons Maxinus Hugo O’Donnell James Lyons
John Malpass Xavier John Maher Honora Faul
Matteo Mazzoli Patrick Eoin O’Leary Carmelita Mazzoli
James O’Donohoe Daniel Charlie Kelly Andrew O’Donohoe
Magnus Runham Ignatius Hugo O’Donnell Ann Phelan
Ruairí Ward Benedict Hugo Phillips Cormac Lynch
Tadhg Wilson Xavier Fred Sargaison Declan Wilson


Declan O’Keeffe, Head of Communications


Go to Top