Awards Assembly 2016 - Clongowes Wood College

Posted: 27th May 2016

Awards Assembly 2016



Thursday 26th May 2016 Boys’ Chapel at 11.45 a.m.

Order of Ceremony

Opening Prayer: Fr Michael Sheil S.J.                                  

Introduction by: Frank Kelly   

 Headmasters Address: Mr Chris Lumb.

Announcement of new Houseleaders                                  

Sacristans:  Paddy Dunn, Sean McMahon, James Tyrrell,                           Stuart Tyrrell, Derry Waldron

Ministers of the Eucharist:             Michael Broe, Edward Carroll, Daniel Lane, Joe                                                    Martin, Sean McMahon, Barry Murphy,                                                                     Marcus Nolan, Conor Slattery, Donnchadh Walsh,

Special Award for Debating:                                 

Third Line:                                                  

Rory O’Meara, George Zhuchkov

Lower Line:                                                  

Jack Dowling, Luke MacQuillan

Higher Line:                                                 

Liam Lysaght, Barry Murphy.                                                                                           

Special Awards for English Essay:

Third Line:                                                  

Luke Johnston                      

Lower Line:                                                  

Eddie Boland, / Gavin Larkin

Representing Clongowes Wood in University of Limerick in this years Maths Modelling:

Certificates to:

Jack Fanning, Dan Gannon, Ruairi Gildea, Allen Hegarty, Cian Horneck Johnston, Cal Jones, Jake Martin, Billy Minch, Patrick O’Brien, Cathal O’Brien, Ronan O’Kelly, Arthur Odlum, Sean Ojejinmi, Jack Spicer, Richard Walsh, Colm Walsh

Presented by the Institute of Physics in Ireland.

Physics Students of the Year

Michael Binchy, Sean McMahon

Music Awards:


Successfully auditioned for the Dublin Youth Intermediate Orchestra on Percussion:

Conor McCabe (Percussion)

Oscar Martin (Violin)

Contribution to Senior Choir

Allan Hegarty, Ceallachan McDonald, Mikey Mina Ronayne,

David Tunney, Ben Wilkins

 Contribution to Elements Choir.

Matthew Cassidy, Luke Johnston, Aidan McNeill, Michael Spillane,

Daniel Stokes.



House 400 Championship:  Robbie Savage (Grammar)

House 800m Championship: Michael Spillane (Elements)

House High Jump Championship:  Hugo Murray (Poetry)

Third Line 100m Championship:  Charlie O’Neill (Rudiments)

Elements. 100m Championship:   Derick Sholarin (Elements)

Lower Line 100 m Championship.  Eric Scholarin (Grammar)

House 1500 M Champion.  Christian Casey (Poetry)

Lower Line High Jump.      Ethan Noone (Grammar)

The Triangle Race / Cup

Third Line:   Michael Spillane

Lower Line:   Stephen McAleese

Higher Line:  (Cup)   Christian Casey

The Triangle Cup:    Christian Casey.     


Senior Matchplay Championship, The Society Cup:

Colm Walsh / Cian Gahan

Junior Matchplay Championship, Junior Golfer of the Year:

 Ross MacGoey

Junior Matchplay runner up: Jacobo Canseco

Third Line Golfer of the Year, The George F. Crosbie Cup:

Thomas Crinion

Pierce Scratch Cup:  Paddy Culhane

Pierce Scratch Cup Runners Up:   David Jeffares, Conor Mulholland                                                                        


Minor Player of the year:     Stephen Black

Junior Player of the year:    Hugo Phillips

Senior Player of the year:    Derry Waldron

Gaelic Football:

Under 14 Player of the year:   Rory Morrin

Under 15 Player of the year:   Chris Grimes

Senior Player of the year:   Jack Gilheany

Paddler of the Year:    Harry Jankola


Under 15’s Players Player of the Year:   Luke McMahon

Categories: Clongowes Stories
Go to Top